Frequently Asked Questions
Does being a member of a private school (that offers a homeschooling option) take the place of the record keeping and testing requirements required of homeschooler by the county/state?
Registering with a private school is a valid, legal choice for homeschoolers in Florida who choose not to register with their county. Those registered in a private school must meet the requirements of that private school within the law. AEI does not require a particular method of record keeping or testing. However, AEI encourages all families to document learning activities in some form. Portfolios are a great way to document your child’s progress and accomplishments. These portfolios will not only serve as a scrapbook of your child’s work, they can also be invaluable in later years when apply to colleges or seeking job positions.
What does the term “600 school” mean?
Many private schools serving homeschoolers call themselves "600" or "umbrella" schools. The fact is that they are non-public schools just the same as every other non-public school in Florida. The “600" refers to the statute number that some school choose to incorporate under. It is not required to incorporate to be a non-public school.
I understand that the state requires 180 days of attendance. How often does this need to be submitted?
You will receive instructions on how to email attendance and a sample form when you join. This can be sent in monthly, quarterly or yearly. You must show 180 days of school in one year. Your year starts the day you register and ends 365 days later.
Do I need to be registered with the county/state if I enroll in a private school such as AEI?
No. When you enroll in AEI or any private school, you do NOT need to register with the Home Education program in your county. (Registering with the county as a home education student AND registering with a private school is not statutory. If your county requests it, please follow up with them concerning the law.)
However, if you are currently registered with the state home education program (via your local school board), you MUST send them a notice of termination. This is required of any child registered with the state home education program regardless if you choose to enroll the child in a public school, a private school, or transfer your home education program to another county. The only thing required by law is the child’s name, address and the parents signature on the letter stating that you are ending your “state home education program“. You can tell them where you plan to enroll, or if you are moving out of state, but it is not required by law.
Do you have to submit something to AEI so that my child can promoted to the next grade?
No. You as the parent decide what grade level to teach and how you will promote. Some homeschoolers do not use grade levels or promotions.
What happens if I decide to enroll my child back into public school?
If you were to enroll them in a public school in the future, you would have to submit to the enrollment requirements of the state. Most often a child will be put in an age appropriate level. You can read more about this on the DOE’s website. http://www.floridaschoolchoice.org/information/home_education/faqs.asp#transfer
You stated that the cost is $25 per school year, per student for 365 days, and I handle all curriculum and educational records, etc. Other than attendance is there anything else that needs to be submitted to you at any time?
Records to be submitted with application:
1. Proof of age for children entering Kindergarten only.
2. Certification of school-entry health examination performed within 1 year prior to enrollment or signed statement by the parent or guardian stating objections to such examination on religious grounds.
3. Certificate of current immunization or signed statement by the parent or guardian stating that the administration of immunization agents conflicts with their religious tenets or practices.
We do not see a doctor regularly, only when it is something we cannot handle. We feel we are to pray before seeking medical care, and really see no need to get a physical—so where does that leave me?
This is not a problem. The statutes state that a parent may object in writing to the health requirement because of religion. You do not have to state what religion you are. You can get a form from your county, or you can write a letter and sign it, scan and email it.
For the health examination:
· a signed statement by the parent or guardian stating objections to such examination on religious grounds.
· a signed statement by the parent or guardian stating that the administration of immunization agents conflicts with their religious tenets or practices.
Can my middle/high school age student participate in public school "extra-curricular" activities?
In some Florida districts it is easy to enroll in extra-curricular activities. Some middle schools also allow this. However, each school, and school district has been known to set policy. The best thing to do is ask your assigned school or district about the procedures. It has been argued that the Florida statutes allow all students in private schools or those registered with the state’s home education program to participate.